Twitter YouTube
2 x Backfriend Hinges Reviews for the product - 2 x Backfriend Hinges (Back to product)
 
 
16 Product Reviews - Average rating 4.9 / 5 (Best Rated | Worst Rated | Most Recent | Oldest)

Click to review this product

back friend hinges & hinge locks

- 07/02/2014

Reply from Neil Walkingshaw, General Manager at MEDesign:

Many thanks for your post on the subject of hingelocks and older Backfriends. Your comments are greatly appreciated but just to clarify the new hingelocks WILL fit all Backfriends (even very old ones).

On very old Backfriends such as yours there is a slight amendment to the standard fitting instructions. Take the two pronged part of the hingelock set. At the base where the prongs are connected, there is a small v shaped grove/snap line. Flex the prongs (or you can carefully cut along the grove with a pair of scissors) until they separate into two parts - remove any sharp edges created from the separated parts.

Insert prongs through the backrest and then fit as per instructional video on the website product page but using the upper groove on the locking component.

This information is also posted on the hingelock ordering page on the website.

Hope this advice helps.

Original post from Customer:

It all arrived safely & well with in the 5 working days. The only thing I wish to say is that the hinge locks do not fit my back friend as the holes are too wide for the lock to fit. I imagine they are only useful for a newer version of my seat which wasn't mentioned on the web site. Fortunately I only needed to replace the hinges & still have the metal screws.
I have nothing but praise for my back friend which I purchased back in the mid 1990's after suffering a slipped disc & do not go anywhere with out it. It is FANTASTIC Thankyou


backfriend hinges

- 01/11/2010

good delivery of a good-priced product!like the free p&p WELL DONE

Great service on replacement part

- 23/12/2011

I have an old backfriend, and needed replacement fittings. The advice from customer services was great - I initially thought the fittings would not work with my old model - they do, thanks to the very prompt and helpful guidance. Thank you

Great customer service

- 20/02/2013

I would like to say.....thank you so much for your telephone customer service.
I rang your office today regarding my well-loved and well-used Backfriend which requires a single replacement hinge after 5 years of constant use.
I received great guidance in how to remove the remaining part (!) and advice in how to order and fit the replacement.


Replacement hinges for Backfriend

- 11/02/2013

Thank you for a wonderful, rapid and great value service for the replacement hinges for the Backfriend. I'm very impressed. Here's to many more years of service from my Backfriend!

Backfriend hinges

- 20/01/2016

Excellent quick service to deliver hinges for my wonderful backfriend

backfriend hinges

- 06/10/2016

Very pleased on the quick delivery in 24 hours of request. it was good to have my backrest back to its good support

Back friend accessories

- 13/02/2017

Had back friend 10 years wouldn't be without it. Ordered new fittings good to know I can still get them. First class firm to deal with.

comfortable

- 22/03/2017

This is the third back friend I have bought. The first two lasted over twenty years. This latest one was bought for the extra padding on the seat.

Totally satisfied customer

- 21/06/2017

My back friend is out 30 years old and has seen me through many difficult spells when it has been
absolutely effective.
A month ago, incredibly, one of the hinge straps broke! I found the website, unchanged, on the back of the chair. The website couldn't be easier. I ordered on Saturday and received two straps on the Monday. Great service!


dont lose ur hinges

- 06/09/2017

only replacing because i lost them whilst rushing to pack my backfriend into my suitcase . took it on fly drive to usa . use it in everything i drive. car, truck, tractor . its a great help

Replacement Hinges for Old Backfriend seat

- 09/10/2017

Easy to use website and simple ordering process, accounting and confirmation.

Two Fold Support!

- 21/11/2017

I purchased my Backfriend in the 1980's when it was a boon in overcoming a back problem, both in the car and at my desk.

Currently mitigating the affects of arthritis and it needed a new hinge. Again MEDesign support (after sales this time) ensured my 'old friend' was once again supportive.


hingelock pack

- 28/11/2017

backrest like new

Miracle back rescue!

- 17/01/2018

I am forever grateful to the inventors of Backfriend as without it I would not have been able to continue sitting at a desk to work, which would have meant the end of my working life. I had tried all other means of correcting my sitting posture including a kneeler chair, even Pilates, but nothing worked for me. I have congenital hyperlordosis which causes inflammation of the sacroiliac joint and have always had trouble standing or sitting but at the age of 48 my back had had as much as it could take. I had known about the Backfriend for years but hadn't thought it would help much, but at the point of desperation I decided to try it. Within a couple of days I was able to sit without pain; it still requires some discipline to sit correctly of course but I would recommend this to anyone with lower back pain. Give the inventor a knighthood!

back friend hinges

- 28/01/2018

old hinges gave up the ghost after 30 yrs. fitted new hinges seat now like new

Click to review this product

Best sellers chosen by other customers

MEDesign Bedglasses
1 of 3
Price: £24.15 (£28.98 Inc. VAT)
Kitchen Assist Saver Bundle SAVE over 22 percent
List Price: £43.74
Price: £28.35 (£34.02 Inc. VAT)
MEDesign Bedboard
1 of 4
Price: £24.95 (£29.94 Inc. VAT)
Backfriend Carrycase
Price: £16.25 (£19.50 Inc. VAT)
Backfriend Real Wool Fleece Covers
Price: £13.30 (£15.96 Inc. VAT)
Kwik Park Lens
Price: £4.80 (£5.76 Inc. VAT)
MEDesign Pillow
1 of 2
Price: £21.50 (£25.80 Inc. VAT)
2 x Backfriend Hingelocks
Price: £2.50 (£3.00 Inc. VAT)

Shopping cart  Shopping cart
0 Product(s) in cart
Total £0.00
» Checkout
Login Status  Login Status

Not logged in

» Login

MEDesign Web Special Offers

credit cards

We supply to the NHS