Twitter YouTube
MEDesign Backfriend Car Reviews for the product - MEDesign Backfriend Car (Back to product)
 
 
113 Product Reviews - Average rating 4.9 / 5 (Best Rated | Worst Rated | Most Recent | Oldest)

Click to review this product

Early days but....

- 20/06/2017

Only just got my backfriend - 1 day after ordering! Fitting - easy peasy
1st journey only a short one but definitely more comfortable so fingers crossed 🤞


Totally satisfied customer

- 21/06/2017

My back friend is out 30 years old and has seen me through many difficult spells when it has been
absolutely effective.
A month ago, incredibly, one of the hinge straps broke! I found the website, unchanged, on the back of the chair. The website couldn't be easier. I ordered on Saturday and received two straps on the Monday. Great service!


Backfriend value greater than the cost

- 11/09/2017

At the age of 79, I bought my Backfriend in February 2011. It has given, and continues to give, excellent service, requiring only the occasional hinge replacement.

I had started to suffer from serious back pain which was impinging badly on my active life-style.

It accompanies me to four dances a week to render usable the typical folding/stacking seating found in village church halls and has also often been used in the driver's seat. Without it, driving long distances would be extremely uncomfortable and dancing out of the question.

Now, however, I am about to purchase a replacement. Not because it has any functional defects (on the contrary, it is as comfortable now as it was when I bought it). But after being taken here, there and everywhere for six years it is showing scuffs and stains on the upholstery. I want a Backfriend that looks as good as it feels.

I offer my congratulations on a first-rate product and would be delighted if you wished to use this email in your publicity.

At the time of purchase I was really concerned that the cost might be greater than the value; I'm so glad I went ahead anyway and discovered how wrong my fears had been.


Miracle back rescue!

- 17/01/2018

I am forever grateful to the inventors of Backfriend as without it I would not have been able to continue sitting at a desk to work, which would have meant the end of my working life. I had tried all other means of correcting my sitting posture including a kneeler chair, even Pilates, but nothing worked for me. I have congenital hyperlordosis which causes inflammation of the sacroiliac joint and have always had trouble standing or sitting but at the age of 48 my back had had as much as it could take. I had known about the Backfriend for years but hadn't thought it would help much, but at the point of desperation I decided to try it. Within a couple of days I was able to sit without pain; it still requires some discipline to sit correctly of course but I would recommend this to anyone with lower back pain. Give the inventor a knighthood!

It's So Easy

- 10/05/2018

Just replaced the original hinges after about 15 years and these are so easy to fit. Excellent value,very good service with quick delivery. What more could you ask.

Fantastic for car, festivals, seminars, classes

- 28/07/2018

You know those awful chairs you usually find at seminars? The ones that make you so uncomfortable that you cannot concentrate on the lecture? Enter Backfriend! I’m so glad my UK friend let me take a test-sit at a music festival—now I keep it in my car, and take it to any place I’m going to have to sit for an hour or more. Makes any seat a comfortable seat!

Great

- 12/02/2019

any one who suffers with back pain like my wife well this product is a must buy not only does it improve your driving position as it sits you much straighter and higher my wife loves this as she no longer needs to use two cushions to drive and feels so much more comfortable when we use the car thanks to Motability booklet I found this 👍

Brilliant product. Get one.

- 11/04/2019

Brilliant design, being so portable and light it is easy to take with you from house to car/train/plane and onto anywhere really. I have had one of these for years and used it constantly in all sorts of places...until I loaned it to a friend and they lost it. I have just received a new one as replacement, there have been tweaks/improvements
but the basic design and support it gives my back is still the same. I would recommend one of these to anybody who has a back! If your back hurts have this in your toolbox of coping strategies, if your back does not hurt then one of these will probably stop you getting a sore back in the future.


One of the best things I've ever bought.

- 25/04/2019

I've been a taxi driver for twenty five years. After about seven years I started to suffer with lower back pain which made working difficult. I bought a back friend on a try or return basis. For the first ten or twelve days I was unsure if I liked it but then it just became more comfortable each day and my back pain disappeared never to return. Even when I bought a new taxi with a posh seat I still found the back friend to be the most comfortable. I think that using a back friend when driving helps build up the core muscles in your body and initially it takes a few days for this to happen before it becomes completely comfortable, so my advice is to stick with it for the trial period and you will reap the benefits.
Finally I'd just like to thank whoever invented the back friend for making my work life a pleasure.


Great product

- 19/06/2019

Just purchased my fourth backfriend. An excellent product which really does make a bad chair good. Great for travelling, I always take mine on the plane.
Great service, and quick delivery. Would definitely highly recommend. Thank you.


Back friend

- 14/04/2020

Brilliant - have now bought for all the family for driving and office chairs.

MEDesign

- 18/07/2020

Excellent service. Delivered within three working days as specified. Well packaged with spare parts included. Backfriend easily assembled. Fleece cover fits well and good quality. Employee I spoke to prior to purchase was very knowledgeable, polite and helpful.

Back friend

- 29/04/2020

I've now ordered 8 x double padded backfriends for my family & friends. This is an excellent product which has kept our backs in tip top condition. I thoroughly recommend it.

A real friend

- 26/05/2020

I have used a Backfriend for several years both in the home and the car - it successfully mitigates the pain from an ageing back! I go nowhere without it.

Back care seat

- 10/05/2020

Prompt service..ordered on monday delivered wednesday...very impressed both with product and service

Backfriend single padding

- 23/10/2009

I've had one of these for well over ten years, nearer fifteen I think and it is brilliant. I never get back pain in the car which was always a problem for me. Normally left in the car it works just as well on any chair, upright or easy. Anthracite is an excellent and servicable colour. Very robust and hardwearing. The underlying material of the backfriend - fibreglass, I think - is virtually indestructable. My only complaint were the devices used to link the seat to the back - awkward to fit, inflexible and prone to split. When mine broke for the second time I replaced them with some synthetic rope which has proved a highly successful modification. I am interested to see if these devices have been improved on current models. I am about to order a new backfriend now that the cover has finally worn out in the areas that rub together. The old one will be kept in my wife's car to save swapping from one car to the other. There is still loads of life left in it..

Backfriend

- 25/07/2011

Brilliant service, order received well packed, undamaged and within 3 working days.
Thank You
B.Sutton
(order ID: 14748)


Backrests

- 05/08/2012

Bought standard backrest about 18 months ago for use in car. Noticed the benefit after about 2 weeks. Back pain when driving substantially reduced. Ordered padded version a few weeks ago for sitting indoors. Now starting to feel the benefit with greater comfort. I suffer with age-related spinal wear and tear.

Very pleased

- 09/01/2013

I have just received a fleece cover for the seat of my Backfriend. It adds so much comfort for when I am sitting watching tv. I like it so much I have now ordered another one for my office chair !

Recommended

- 03/04/2013

Having tried many things to help with my lower back pain I was sceptical this would be any better. When I first sat in it, it felt uncomfortable but after a few minutes I began to feel the benefit. I recommend it.

BackFriend review

- 18/07/2013

I have used the seat now for about 5 months. I had mixed feelings about the seat during the initial few weeks. Hence the reason I have not given you a review before.

I have suffered many years with not only lower back but also upper back pain. In other words, the whole of my left side is troublesome. I have undergone osteopathy treatment and this pain is now reduced to a manageable discomfort. The seat when driving caused the upper back pain to return and being left sided, gear changing was very uncomfortable. However, since the seat has removable links, I removed the links and used only the bottom part of the seat. This has really been a comfortable setup for me and the upper back pain has now settled down.

Few weeks back during gardening I have unfortunately done something to my lower back again and now the sciatic nerve on the right is giving me a lot of pain and some numbness in the toes. But the base of your seat is the best thing for this. The only place I can currently be comfortable and pain free is when driving the car! Superb seat and very well constructed and strong and I am so glad I found a solution.

Given 4 stars as I couldn't use the whole seat and I am left with an unused back rest. Otherwise it would have been 5 stars.

Many thanks for this product.


Satisfied customer

- 25/05/2017

The Back friend certainly works at easing back pain. My original back friend over 10 years ago did that. I have found the original chair I bought so helpful that since my back is better I used it every time I used my car since it was great support when driving. Recently my original chair has aged and I've just bought a new chair, and I was amazed that it took only 36 hours to be delivered from the time of ordering. Love my chair, keeps my back strong and healthy.

secure and solid support

- 09/07/2020

Portable, lightweight, solid, sturdy, just the job.

Click to review this product

« 1234 Next »

Shopping cart  Shopping cart
0 Product(s) in cart
Total £0.00
» Checkout
Login Status  Login Status

Not logged in

» Login

MEDesign Web Special Offers

credit cards

We supply to the NHS