Twitter YouTube
MEDesign Backfriend Reviews for the product - MEDesign Backfriend (Back to product)
 
 
111 Product Reviews - Average rating 4.9 / 5 (Best Rated | Worst Rated | Most Recent | Oldest)

Click to review this product

BRILLIANT PRODUCT & SERVICE

- 26/01/2017

This product was recommended by my physio to help with my chronic back problem, I wish I had found it sooner. Also, ordered on Monday and arrived on Wednesday, excellent service.

Back friend accessories

- 13/02/2017

Had back friend 10 years wouldn't be without it. Ordered new fittings good to know I can still get them. First class firm to deal with.

Brilliant

- 21/02/2017

The backfriend arrived overnight and I am sitting on it in perfect comfort as I type this. I suffer from a lower backache and even after only 30 minutes I call feel the relief. It is doing wonders for my posture which left a lot to be desired. The height adjustability is handy as I am 6'3" and can adjust the back to a perfect height. I really should have ordered one of these years ago.

comfortable

- 22/03/2017

This is the third back friend I have bought. The first two lasted over twenty years. This latest one was bought for the extra padding on the seat.

Early days but....

- 20/06/2017

Only just got my backfriend - 1 day after ordering! Fitting - easy peasy
1st journey only a short one but definitely more comfortable so fingers crossed 🤞


Totally satisfied customer

- 21/06/2017

My back friend is out 30 years old and has seen me through many difficult spells when it has been
absolutely effective.
A month ago, incredibly, one of the hinge straps broke! I found the website, unchanged, on the back of the chair. The website couldn't be easier. I ordered on Saturday and received two straps on the Monday. Great service!


Backfriend value greater than the cost

- 11/09/2017

At the age of 79, I bought my Backfriend in February 2011. It has given, and continues to give, excellent service, requiring only the occasional hinge replacement.

I had started to suffer from serious back pain which was impinging badly on my active life-style.

It accompanies me to four dances a week to render usable the typical folding/stacking seating found in village church halls and has also often been used in the driver's seat. Without it, driving long distances would be extremely uncomfortable and dancing out of the question.

Now, however, I am about to purchase a replacement. Not because it has any functional defects (on the contrary, it is as comfortable now as it was when I bought it). But after being taken here, there and everywhere for six years it is showing scuffs and stains on the upholstery. I want a Backfriend that looks as good as it feels.

I offer my congratulations on a first-rate product and would be delighted if you wished to use this email in your publicity.

At the time of purchase I was really concerned that the cost might be greater than the value; I'm so glad I went ahead anyway and discovered how wrong my fears had been.


Two Fold Support!

- 21/11/2017

I purchased my Backfriend in the 1980's when it was a boon in overcoming a back problem, both in the car and at my desk.

Currently mitigating the affects of arthritis and it needed a new hinge. Again MEDesign support (after sales this time) ensured my 'old friend' was once again supportive.


Miracle back rescue!

- 17/01/2018

I am forever grateful to the inventors of Backfriend as without it I would not have been able to continue sitting at a desk to work, which would have meant the end of my working life. I had tried all other means of correcting my sitting posture including a kneeler chair, even Pilates, but nothing worked for me. I have congenital hyperlordosis which causes inflammation of the sacroiliac joint and have always had trouble standing or sitting but at the age of 48 my back had had as much as it could take. I had known about the Backfriend for years but hadn't thought it would help much, but at the point of desperation I decided to try it. Within a couple of days I was able to sit without pain; it still requires some discipline to sit correctly of course but I would recommend this to anyone with lower back pain. Give the inventor a knighthood!

It's So Easy

- 10/05/2018

Just replaced the original hinges after about 15 years and these are so easy to fit. Excellent value,very good service with quick delivery. What more could you ask.

Backfriend single padding

- 23/10/2009

I've had one of these for well over ten years, nearer fifteen I think and it is brilliant. I never get back pain in the car which was always a problem for me. Normally left in the car it works just as well on any chair, upright or easy. Anthracite is an excellent and servicable colour. Very robust and hardwearing. The underlying material of the backfriend - fibreglass, I think - is virtually indestructable. My only complaint were the devices used to link the seat to the back - awkward to fit, inflexible and prone to split. When mine broke for the second time I replaced them with some synthetic rope which has proved a highly successful modification. I am interested to see if these devices have been improved on current models. I am about to order a new backfriend now that the cover has finally worn out in the areas that rub together. The old one will be kept in my wife's car to save swapping from one car to the other. There is still loads of life left in it..

Backfriend

- 25/07/2011

Brilliant service, order received well packed, undamaged and within 3 working days.
Thank You
B.Sutton
(order ID: 14748)


Backrests

- 05/08/2012

Bought standard backrest about 18 months ago for use in car. Noticed the benefit after about 2 weeks. Back pain when driving substantially reduced. Ordered padded version a few weeks ago for sitting indoors. Now starting to feel the benefit with greater comfort. I suffer with age-related spinal wear and tear.

Very pleased

- 09/01/2013

I have just received a fleece cover for the seat of my Backfriend. It adds so much comfort for when I am sitting watching tv. I like it so much I have now ordered another one for my office chair !

Recommended

- 03/04/2013

Having tried many things to help with my lower back pain I was sceptical this would be any better. When I first sat in it, it felt uncomfortable but after a few minutes I began to feel the benefit. I recommend it.

BackFriend review

- 18/07/2013

I have used the seat now for about 5 months. I had mixed feelings about the seat during the initial few weeks. Hence the reason I have not given you a review before.

I have suffered many years with not only lower back but also upper back pain. In other words, the whole of my left side is troublesome. I have undergone osteopathy treatment and this pain is now reduced to a manageable discomfort. The seat when driving caused the upper back pain to return and being left sided, gear changing was very uncomfortable. However, since the seat has removable links, I removed the links and used only the bottom part of the seat. This has really been a comfortable setup for me and the upper back pain has now settled down.

Few weeks back during gardening I have unfortunately done something to my lower back again and now the sciatic nerve on the right is giving me a lot of pain and some numbness in the toes. But the base of your seat is the best thing for this. The only place I can currently be comfortable and pain free is when driving the car! Superb seat and very well constructed and strong and I am so glad I found a solution.

Given 4 stars as I couldn't use the whole seat and I am left with an unused back rest. Otherwise it would have been 5 stars.

Many thanks for this product.


back friend hinges & hinge locks

- 07/02/2014

Reply from Neil Walkingshaw, General Manager at MEDesign:

Many thanks for your post on the subject of hingelocks and older Backfriends. Your comments are greatly appreciated but just to clarify the new hingelocks WILL fit all Backfriends (even very old ones).

On very old Backfriends such as yours there is a slight amendment to the standard fitting instructions. Take the two pronged part of the hingelock set. At the base where the prongs are connected, there is a small v shaped grove/snap line. Flex the prongs (or you can carefully cut along the grove with a pair of scissors) until they separate into two parts - remove any sharp edges created from the separated parts.

Insert prongs through the backrest and then fit as per instructional video on the website product page but using the upper groove on the locking component.

This information is also posted on the hingelock ordering page on the website.

Hope this advice helps.

Original post from Customer:

It all arrived safely & well with in the 5 working days. The only thing I wish to say is that the hinge locks do not fit my back friend as the holes are too wide for the lock to fit. I imagine they are only useful for a newer version of my seat which wasn't mentioned on the web site. Fortunately I only needed to replace the hinges & still have the metal screws.
I have nothing but praise for my back friend which I purchased back in the mid 1990's after suffering a slipped disc & do not go anywhere with out it. It is FANTASTIC Thankyou


Backfriend

- 25/07/2011

Brilliant service, order received well packed, undamaged and within 3 working days.
Thank You
B.Sutton
(order ID: 14748)


Satisfied customer

- 25/05/2017

The Back friend certainly works at easing back pain. My original back friend over 10 years ago did that. I have found the original chair I bought so helpful that since my back is better I used it every time I used my car since it was great support when driving. Recently my original chair has aged and I've just bought a new chair, and I was amazed that it took only 36 hours to be delivered from the time of ordering. Love my chair, keeps my back strong and healthy.

Address

- 25/04/2018

Found it completely impossible to make corrections to address on the ordering form. Also East Yorkshire as a sub-division of Yorkshire not included whereas West is. All annoying.

Backfriend Hingelocks

- 13/08/2011

Reply from Neil Walkingshaw, General Manager at MEDesign:

Dear Mr MacNicol,

Many thanks for your post on the subject of hingelocks and older Backfriends. Your comments are appreciated but not strictly accurate.

The new hingelocks WILL fit all Backfriends (even very old ones) and the information on the web page is indeed correct.

On very old Backfriends such as yours there is a slight amendment to the standard fitting instructions. Take the two pronged part of the hingelock set. At the base where the prongs are connected, there is a small v shaped grove/snap line. Flex the prongs (or you can carefully cut along the grove with a pair of scissors) until they separate into two parts - remove any sharp edges created from the separated parts.

Insert prongs through the backrest and then fit as per the diagrams on the fitting instruction leaflet (enclosed with the parts) but using the upper groove on the locking component.

Hope this advice proves useful to you and indeed other customers.

Original post from Nigel MacNicol:

Beware of ordering the "Hingelock" accessories, which are stated to be suitable for older versions of backfriend, but which do not actually fit, because older Backfriends have holes too widely spaced. The original brass screw fittings which were used on very old Backfriend should therefore be retained, thereby saving ?2.75!


Click to review this product

« | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | Next »

Best sellers chosen by other customers

MEDesign Backfriend and Pillow Free UK Delivery
List Price: £97.56
Price: £74.80 (£89.76 Inc. VAT)
MEDesign Bedglasses
1 of 3
Price: £24.15 (£28.98 Inc. VAT)
Backfriend Carrycase
Price: £16.25 (£19.50 Inc. VAT)
Backfriend Real Wool Fleece Covers
Price: £13.30 (£15.96 Inc. VAT)
MEDesign Backfriend and Carrycase Free UK Delivery
List Price: £91.26
Price: £69.55 (£83.46 Inc. VAT)
MEDesign Pillow
1 of 2
Price: £21.50 (£25.80 Inc. VAT)
Chiropody Scissors Long Reach
Price: £5.30 (£6.36 Inc. VAT)
MEDesign Pillow and Bedglasses Free UK Delivery
List Price: £62.58
Price: £45.65 (£54.78 Inc. VAT)
Natural Wheat Bag Fleece Red
1 of 2
Price: £7.35 (£8.82 Inc. VAT)

Shopping cart  Shopping cart
0 Product(s) in cart
Total £0.00
» Checkout
Login Status  Login Status

Not logged in

» Login

MEDesign Web Special Offers

credit cards

We supply to the NHS