Twitter YouTube
MEDesign Backfriend Car Reviews for the product - MEDesign Backfriend Car (Back to product)
102 Product Reviews - Average rating 4.9 / 5 (Best Rated | Worst Rated | Most Recent | Oldest)

Click to review this product

Couldn't do without it!

- 06/08/2013

I have been using my Backfriend for years, on the sofa, at the table, on long and short haul flights, in restaurants, etc. I have recommended it to many of my friends and can honestly say that it has been the best thing for pain relief I have ever bought! I couldn't do without it. The service I have received from MEDesign has been faultless, always helpful and friendly. Thank you!

Just what I needed

- 12/08/2013

Found out about this when I was surfing the Web. Bought a Backfriend 2 weeks ago just before going on holiday. It was great. I was doing a lot of driving and what a difference it made. Kept me sitting upright, no slouching, with the result that my back was not sore the whole time I was away. Also use it at home as couches are quite soft and at my church which made sitting so much more comfortable. I have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone. Thank you.

Great product

- 30/08/2013

Ordered a new backfriend yesterday afternoon - told 3-5 days delivery - it was delivered this morning at 8.45 am. Excellent service. I have a backfriend in the car and at home, my husband uses one at work. I take it to the theatre, on the aeroplane, anywhere I need it. It makes such a difference and supports the back brilliantly. I have recommended it to many people who have bought one too.
Just think you should modernise your marketing photos! Otherwise I can't praise the product and the company enough. Thankyou.

Great for Meditation

- 12/09/2013

I was on a meditation retreat where i got to use the Backfriend. It creates the perfect posture for my meditation as I need to use a chair, and I feel that it has made great improvements in the quality of my meditations.


- 24/10/2013

This had been recommended to me, but I thought it seemed a bit expensive. However, I had a chance to try one out during a week-long meditation retreat, and the experience prompted me to buy one for myself.
Excellent service : product arrived in good time, well packaged and with clear instructions.
I've been using it for 3 days now, and already feel a difference. Back pain much reduced and posture improved.

great product, great service

- 11/12/2013

I was delighted to receive my Backfriend very quickly and at such a good price.

I could not be without my Backfriend and have only just replace my original one which I bought over 25 years ago!!!

Backfriend delivery

- 27/12/2013

Amazing! Ordered Mon 23/12 delivered next day before 3 pm.

Back friend

- 11/01/2014

I have had my backfriend with a fleece cover for a long time, and apart from changing the hinges occasionally I find that I can sit without discomfort for a long period of time, also getting spare hinges very quickly after ordering. I have recommended this product to many of my friends and club members.

Great product

- 24/01/2014

Would recommend this product to anyone who suffers from back pain

Transforms a cheap chair to orthopaedic

- 08/02/2014

Lower back pain used to bend me almost double if I sat for long on my office chair or in my soft armchair. A good-quality supportive office chair would have cost me hundreds of pounds. For 60-odd quid, the Backfriend transformed my Ikea (?30) office chair into something I can sit on for long periods without any resulting pain. Amazingly, it did the same for my armchair with soft back cushion, though here I do need to resettle the Backfriend just occasionally in the course of an evening, as it slips (only very, very slightly) under the base of the soft cushion (under my 14 stone weight), and only after some time. The best armchair for back-pain sufferers has a RRP of ?1200. I now don't need to spend this amount. I have replaced one hinge in 15 months. They are cheap, so I have laid in a stock. All in all, I reckon the investment of ?61 has saved me ?1.5-?2K in spending on 2 new chairs.


- 27/02/2014

I ordered my Backfriend on Tuesday night and it was here Thursday morning! Thank you. It's Heaven for my back!

MEDesign Backfriend

- 09/03/2014

Excellent produce the second I have purchased. It provides optimum back support for me when driving.


- 21/05/2014

I cannot believe the difference the backfriend has made to me and mum. I have arthritis in my back and spend all day in my car as part of my job. I used to have constant pain as soon as I sat in the car, but not anymore. The backfriend I use has all but stopped the backpain. I now carry it with me if I need to sit. I have bought one for mum and another to use at home. The customer service was also fantastic, all I can say is THANK YOU.

Best Purchase Ever

- 01/08/2014

My back friend is the best thing I ever bought. I used to get regular back spasms that left me twisted and in agony but since getting a back friend five years ago I haven't had any trouble at all. I use it in my reclining chair and it works a treat. Thank you for a brilliant product.

Backfriend sent to Canada

- 04/08/2014

This is just to let you know the Backfriend you recently shipped to Oakville, Ontario arrived safe and sound. My wife, for whom I purchased the Backfriend, was at work. I drove to her place of work and left it with her.

When she drove home, her smile said it all. It has already made a huge difference to her comfort level.

Many thanks for a superb product. We shall tell our friends.

Wonderful product

- 05/01/2015

I have 3 of these and they are really friends. must have acquired the first one about 20 years ago following 2 lower back operations.
I find that it makes all the difference when driving the car as well as sitting in chairs that are too low and too deep.
They are also excellent to sit in chairs in the garden ( not deckchairs)


- 22/01/2015

I have been using my Backfriend for just a week and it is most impressive. I've used it in the car and in the home - it is so easily transportable I have become a big fan. I would also like to say that communication with the company, Neil in particular, was brilliant.

A spine for your spine

- 13/03/2015

I know it's expensive but it's worth every penny purely because it actually works, doing what it's supposed to. No gimmicks, just "simple" mechanics. The best thing I've bought for long-term lower back relief. Easy to carry ~ used everywhere (car, soft chairs, dining chairs, cinema, etc).

I have the Double Padded version and used it extensively following an L4, L5, S1 decompression and fusion (the one where they screw titanium rods into your spine). Still in the early stages of recouperatio, the Backfriend now allows me to sit comfortably whereas beforehand I could only stand or lay down.

Excellent product

- 03/04/2015

I have had the Backfriend in my car for about a year now. It took a little while to get used to the firm sitting position, but now I would not be without it. All journeys used to be painful, and now even long ones are no problem. The Backfriend was recommended to me by a friend, and I am happy to pass on and endorse the recommendation.


- 04/04/2015


Backfriend Orthopaedic Seat

- 08/08/2015

I have to admit that the seat has been and still is phenomenally successful and exceeds all expectations I had for it. In fact to be honest I harboured a few reservations as to the literature's claims when I ordered it !! But those reservations were put to bed within three days of receiving it.

Whilst it is by no means the most comfortable seat I've ever sat in it is without doubt the most successful and I have absolutely no reservations in recommending it to anyone as a sure fire workable aid to chronic back pain.

In closing I wish to thank you and your team for the excellent product - long may you as a company flourish!!

30 years later !

- 20/08/2015

Am ordering my 2nd Back Friend, last one purchased almost 30 years ago! It is brilliant use it all the time. Have severe back pain from accident in 1972 !!! The original is still going strong but find I need extra padding the older I get !

Most Impressed

- 18/09/2015

Many thanks for the Backfriend delivered yesterday. I was most impressed as I'd ordered it on Friday afternoon. I suffer from back problems so I'm very uncomfortable when driving without one in the car. Many thanks again. J S

Will not drive without it

- 28/09/2015

Brought this item as I do a lot of driving it is wonderful worth every penny. It makes you feel so secured in the drivers seat and hugs your lower back.

Brilliant product, brilliant service

- 07/10/2015

Thank you for your prompt attention sending the Backfriend to me. I know my daughter will be delighted to have a second Backfriend so one can remain in her car. A great product which has helped her tremendously as an Ankylosing Spondylitis sufferer.


- 24/11/2015

A triumph of design and manufacture. This is my second 'Friend'. The first continues to give perfect service after several years, complete with the original hinges. Why the second then? We now have four floors so life is easier with two friends at different levels.


- 28/01/2016

Very fast delivery and a fine, helpful product. Highly recommended


- 26/02/2016

Just wanted to say a big thank you to MEDesign for my Backfriend which arrived first thing this morning. I am chuffed to bits with it and looking forward to taking it with me to my regular haunts which have uncomfortable seats. Your service has been so efficient and enjoyable (the gentleman who took my telephone order has a wonderful sense of humour).


- 08/03/2016

Good Afternoon from a regular customer.

I just wanted to tell you how happy I was that your website is so easy to use from overseas. As an expatriate Brit who currently lives in Brazil and has a U.S. billing address, it is very hard to order anything at all from the UK. I usually end up asking a family member to order for me.

I did not have any trouble with your website because it makes provision for separate billing and delivery addresses. My compliments to your professionalism and I look forward to receiving my latest Backfriend when I am in the UK in April. I believe this is number 5 that I have ordered over the years since I first had back surgery 30 years ago -- it goes everywhere with me in cars, trains and aeroplanes and has attracted much interest along the way.

Medesign backfriend seat

- 11/07/2016

Within hour of seat arrival, I could feel the difference. My back pain was easing off. I even tried the long run in the car as well and I was felling so great I will fully recommend the seat to anybody with back problem.
Thanks Medesign.

Click to review this product

« | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | »

Best sellers chosen by other customers

MEDesign Backfriend and Pillow Free UK Delivery
List Price: £97.56
Price: £74.80 (£89.76 Inc. VAT)
MEDesign Bedglasses
1 of 3
Price: £24.15 (£28.98 Inc. VAT)
Backfriend Carrycase
Price: £16.25 (£19.50 Inc. VAT)
Backfriend Real Wool Fleece Covers
Price: £13.30 (£15.96 Inc. VAT)
Kwik Park Lens
Price: £4.80 (£5.76 Inc. VAT)
MEDesign Backfriend and Carrycase Free UK Delivery
List Price: £91.26
Price: £69.55 (£83.46 Inc. VAT)
Chiropody Scissors Long Reach
Price: £5.30 (£6.36 Inc. VAT)

Shopping cart  Shopping cart
0 Product(s) in cart
Total £0.00
» Checkout
Login Status  Login Status

Not logged in

» Login

MEDesign Web Special Offers

credit cards

We supply to the NHS